The Court of Aldermen has 25 members, one representing each ward of the City of London, together with the Recorder of London. They are elected by the registered voters within the ward, and stand for re-election at least every six years. They retire at 70 years of age. The historic requirement that aldermen sit as magistrates in the City of London was dropped in 2013, but most of those listed below still do.

The list is in order of the year in which they have served as Lord Mayor, and thereafter in the order of their first election as an alderman. The link from their surname should take you to their entry at the City of London website.

Alderman Sir        David          Howard Bt   Cornhill       Gardener

Mr Alderman        Ian              Luder CBE   Castle Baynard      Cooper

Mr Alderman        Nicholas      Anstee         Aldersgate   Butcher

Alderman Sir        Michael       Bear            Portsoken    Pavior

Alderman Sir        David          Wootton      Langbourne Solicitor

Alderman Sir        Roger          Gifford        Cordwainer  Musician

Alderman Dame    Fiona           Woolf DBE  Candlewick  Solicitor

Mr Alderman        Alan            Yarrow        Bridge & Bridge without Fishmonger

Mr Alderman Hon Jeffrey         Evans          Cheap           Shipwright

Alderman Sir        Paul            Judge          Tower         Marketor

Dr Alderman         Andrew       Parmley       Vintry         Musician

Miss Alderman      Alison         Gowman     Dowgate      Glover

Mr Alderman        Gordon       Haines         Queenhithe  Horner

Mr Alderman        David          Graves        Cripplegate  Solicitor

Mr Alderman        John            Garbutt       Walbrook     Weaver

Mr Alderman        Peter           Hewitt         Aldgate       Woolman

Mr Alderman        Matthew      Richardson   Billingsgate  Wax Chandler

Mr Alderman        William       Russell         Bread Street Haberdasher

Mr Alderman        Charles        Bowman      Lime Street  Grocer

Mr Alderman        Tim            Hailes          Bassishaw    Solicitor

Mr Alderman        Julian          Malins QC    Farringdon Without        

Mr Alderman        Michael       Mainelli      Broad Street    World Trader

Mr Alderman        Vincent        Keaveney    Farringdon Within Solicitor

Mr Alderman        Peter           Estlin          Coleman Street   International Banker

Alderman Baroness Patricia      Scotland QC    Bishopsgate    Skinner

For more on the Court of Aldermen, please visit this link at the City of London website.

© Nigel Pullman 2015