Elections form an important part of the governance of the City, but to someone not directly involved, their different procedures and electorates can be confusing. This page seeks to clarify the various elections, which are for:

The Lord Mayor

The Sheriffs (and also some other officers, such as Ale Conners and Auditors)

The Aldermen

The Common Councilmen

The Masters, Wardens and Courts of the livery companies

The Lord Mayor

Eligibility for election requires candidates to be an alderman, and to have served the office of the sheriff. Typically there will be just three or four such qualified candidates, and all liverymen (who have been liverymen since May the previous year) are eligible to vote for two of them, at Common Hall in Guildhall on Michalemas Day (29th September).

The Court of Aldermen then decide which of the two will be the next Lord Mayor, to take office the following November.

To read a copy of the letter from the Town Clerk dated 15th May 2014 setting out the likely progression of aldermen as sheriff and lord mayor over the next two years, please follow this link.

To download a copy of past Lord Mayors (from 1943 to 2014, also with current aldermen, please click here.

The Sheriffs

Normally there will be two sheriffs, of whom one will be an alderman, and the other not. Occasionally, when the pool of qualified aldermen to go on to be the Lord Mayor dwindles (see above), the Court of Aldermen will request that two aldermanic candidates stand for election, unopposed.

Often there are just two candidates (for two places) but three or more candidates are also quite normal. However regardless of the number, an election will take place. All liverymen, as above, vote for two sheriffs at Common Hall in Guildhall on Midsummer Day (24th June). The Sheriffs take office on Michaelmas Eve (28th September).

Also on this day are elected the Auditors, Bridgemasters (2) and Ale Conners (4), now largely symbolic offices, as well as members of the Livery Committee.

To see a list of the non aldermanic Sheriffs since 1943, please click here

To download a copy of past Sheriffs (from 1832 to 2014), please click here.

For more on the election of the Sheriffs, please follow this link.

The Aldermen

The Court of Aldermen has 25 members, one representing each ward of the City of London. They are elected by the registered voters† within the ward (ie not the livery), and stand for re-election at least every six years  (separately from the Common Councilmen elections, and not all at once, but as vacancies occur). They retire at 70 years of age. The historic requirement that aldermen sit as magistrates in the City of London was dropped in 2013, but most still do.

Except in the City of London, Aldermen elsewhere were abolished under the Local Government Act 1972 in 1974, except for other London boroughs where the position was abolished in 1978.

Aldermanic Elections December 2014

There are to be contested elections in the wards of Bishopsgate and Dowgate, as follows:

5 December – Dowgate (sitting Alderman has completed her six year term).
• Alison Gowman, standing for re-

• Henry Pollard

9 December - Bishopsgate (on the retirement of Neil Redcliffe)
• James De Sausmarez
• Simon Duckworth

• Baroness Patricia Scotland 

• Adrian Waddingham

More information is available at the-city/how-we-work/elections-and- wards/Pages/forthcoming-elections. aspx 

To see a list of the Court of Aldermen, please click here.

The Common Councilmen

The Court of Common Council has 100 members, a variable number representing each ward of the City of London (on average four per ward). They are elected by the registered voters within the ward, (the same as aldermen, ie not the livery), and stand for re-election every four years  (on the same day in March, next in 2017). Common Councilmen are the City's equivalent of local government elected councillors, and have similar responsibilities.

To see a list of the Court of Common Council, please click here.

The Masters*, Wardens and Courts of the livery companies

Each of the 110 livery companies has their own method of electing their masters, wardens etc. In every case bar one (the Bowyers) elections for masters and wardens are for one year. (Bowyers for two). Some companies conduct their election at "Common Hall" - this should not be confused with the common halls at Guildhall mentioned above. 

*The Fishmongers', Goldsmiths', Dyers', Blacksmiths', Basketmakers' and  Shipwrights' have a Prime Warden (rather than Master) whilst the Weavers'  (usually acknowledged as the oldest livery company) have an Upper Bailiff.

† Registered voters - In the City, uniquely, workers as well as residents have the right to vote. Any organisation that is based in the Square Mile can nominate workers to vote in the ward elections for aldermen and common councilmen. The number of votes is determined by the size of the workforce in each building, not as an aggregate.

© Nigel Pullman 2015